Species of sharks

This listing includes some of the most well-known species across various families. 

There are over 500 species of sharks, and this list highlights the diversity within the major families. 

The list includes common and scientific names, categorized by their respective families.

For a complete list, you can refer to sources like the Florida Museum's shark species profiles and the Shark Database, which catalog and provide detailed information on over 500 species of sharks​ (Shark Swiss)​​ (Active Wild)​​ (Florida Museum)​.

Order: Carcharhiniformes (Ground Sharks)

Family: Carcharhinidae (Requiem Sharks)

  • Blacktip Shark (Carcharhinus limbatus)
  • Bull Shark (Carcharhinus leucas)
  • Tiger Shark (Galeocerdo cuvier)
  • Lemon Shark (Negaprion brevirostris)
  • Blue Shark (Prionace glauca)

Family: Scyliorhinidae (Cat Sharks)

  • Small-spotted Catshark (Scyliorhinus canicula)
  • Large-spotted Catshark (Scyliorhinus stellaris)

Family: Sphyrnidae (Hammerhead Sharks)

  • Great Hammerhead (Sphyrna mokarran)
  • Scalloped Hammerhead (Sphyrna lewini)
  • Smooth Hammerhead (Sphyrna zygaena)

Order: Lamniformes (Mackerel Sharks)

Family: Lamnidae (Mackerel Sharks)

  • Great White Shark (Carcharodon carcharias)
  • Shortfin Mako Shark (Isurus oxyrinchus)
  • Longfin Mako Shark (Isurus paucus)

Family: Cetorhinidae (Basking Sharks)

  • Basking Shark (Cetorhinus maximus)

Family: Alopiidae (Thresher Sharks)

  • Common Thresher Shark (Alopias vulpinus)
  • Bigeye Thresher Shark (Alopias superciliosus)
  • Pelagic Thresher Shark (Alopias pelagicus)

Order: Squaliformes (Dogfish Sharks)

Family: Squalidae (Dogfish Sharks)

  • Spiny Dogfish (Squalus acanthias)

Family: Centrophoridae (Gulper Sharks)

  • Gulper Shark (Centrophorus granulosus)

Order: Orectolobiformes (Carpet Sharks)

Family: Orectolobidae (Wobbegong Sharks)

  • Tasselled Wobbegong (Eucrossorhinus dasypogon)
  • Spotted Wobbegong (Orectolobus maculatus)

Family: Ginglymostomatidae (Nurse Sharks)

  • Nurse Shark (Ginglymostoma cirratum)

Order: Heterodontiformes (Bullhead Sharks)

Family: Heterodontidae (Bullhead Sharks)

  • Port Jackson Shark (Heterodontus portusjacksoni)

Order: Hexanchiformes (Cow and Frilled Sharks)

Family: Hexanchidae (Cow Sharks)

  • Bluntnose Sixgill Shark (Hexanchus griseus)

Family: Chlamydoselachidae (Frilled Sharks)

  • Frilled Shark (Chlamydoselachus anguineus)

Order: Squatiniformes (Angel Sharks)

Family: Squatinidae (Angel Sharks)

  • Angel Shark (Squatina squatina)

Order: Pristiophoriformes (Sawsharks)

Family: Pristiophoridae (Sawsharks)

  • Common Sawshark (Pristiophorus cirratus)

Diving is an adventurous sport

Diving is an adventurous sport. Interaction with marine animals is the greatest thrill. Sharks, most of which are harmless, strike fear int...

Popular Posts